header image
 

Join or Volunteer

BMkathleen

The Community Women’s Orchestra welcomes new members. Prospective new members should be female musicians. The orchestra encourages women of at least an intermediate level of playing. Beginners or “rusty” players may prefer to join the entry-level ensemble: Strings Attached (see below).

At this time, CWO has the following vacancies: violin, viola, double bass, and trombones.

Other players may be added to a wait list and called upon when suitable vacancies arise.

Strings Attached – entry level ensemble

Did you used to play a long time ago, want to start up again but are feeling a bit “rusty”?  Are you an “intermediate” player learning an orchestral string instrument? Then, this is the group for you! Strings Attached rehearses concurrently with the full orchestra. String players are especially encourage, but we can also accommodate other instruments on a case-by-case basis. Members will learn easier music and have plenty of performance opportunities, too. When you feel it’s time to join the full orchestra, you’ll be ready! Strings Attached is co-led by Sandra Noreiga and June Bonacich, who both bring vast experience as a music teachers, conductors, and musicians.  June and Sandra are patient, caring and encouraging – just what you need! Please get in touch with us if you’re interested in joining.

Volunteer

CWO is always looking for volunteers to help the organization with such activities as ushering at concerts, fundraising, concert publicity, music library maintenance, grant writing, and the list goes on… If you are interested in volunteering with CWO please send us a message on our CONTACT US page, or call (510) 463-0313, and please complete a short intake form to provide contact information and tell us more about you. The form can be found on our online database system, Musetta, at https://cwo.musetta.org/public_forms/intake.

Getting Started

CWO and Strings Attached rehearse on Thursday evenings at 7:30pm in Oakland at Lake Merritt United Methodist Church, 1333 Lakeshore Avenue. There is a small lot accessible from Lake Merritt Boulevard, a small garage accessible from Lake Merritt Avenue, or plenty of street parking. Interested musicians may consult the rehearsal schedule below and simply come to the next rehearsal. It is recommended that new players email or call beforehand to confirm the rehearsal location, date and time and answer questions about the orchestra. Interested new members are also asked to complete a short intake form to provide contact information and tell us more about you. The form can be found on our online database system, Musetta, at https://cwo.musetta.org/public_forms/intake.

For more information on joining CWO, please e-mail members@communitywomensorchestra.org, or call (510) 463-0313.

Group

2014-2015 Rehearsal Schedule

Set 1

1.Rehearsal Thursday, September 4

2.Rehearsal Thursday, September 11

3.Rehearsal Thursday, September 18

4.Rehearsal Thursday, September 25

5.Rehearsal Thursday, October 2

6.Rehearsal Thursday, October 9

7.Rehearsal Thursday, October 16

8.Rehearsal Thursday, October 23

9.Rehearsal Thursday, October 30

10.Rehearsal Thursday, November 6

11. Rehearsal Thursday, November 13

12. Dress Rehearsal Thursday, November 14

13. Concert Sunday, November 16, 4:00 PM (preceded by rehearsal at 2:30)

Set 2

1.  Rehearsal Thursday, December 4

2.  Rehearsal Thursday, December 11

3.  Rehearsal Thursday, January 8

4.  Rehearsal Thursday, January 15

5.  Rehearsal Thursday, January 22

6.  Rehearsal Thursday, January 29

7.  Rehearsal  Thursday, February 5

8.  Rehearsal, Thursday, February 12

9.  Rehearsal, Thursday, February 19

10.  Rehearsal, Thursday, February 26

11. Rehearsal Thursday, March 5

12. Dress Rehearsal Friday, March 6

13. Intern’l Wmn’s Day Concert, Sunday, March 8, 4:00 PM (preceded by rehearsal at 2:30)

Set 3

1.  Rehearsal Thursday, March 12

2.  Rehearsal Thursday, March 19

3.  Rehearsal Thursday, March 26

4.  Rehearsal Thursday, April 2

5.  Rehearsal Thursday, April 9

6.  Rehearsal Thursday, April 16

7.  Rehearsal Thursday, April 23

8.  Rehearsal  Thursday, April 30

9.  Rehearsal, Thursday, May 7

10.  Rehearsal, Thursday, May 14

11.  Dress Rehearsal, Friday, May 15

12.  Concert Sunday May 17, 4:00 PM  (preceded by rehearsal at 2:30 PM)

 

Switch to our mobile site